Facebook Twitter Flickr

Scenes from Crete (3) – captured with the Nokia 808 PureView, Lumia 1020 and Lumia 1520

So here it is, my third post with shots from Crete – mostly captured with the Nokia 808 PureView and the Lumia 1020. I did make quite a few shots with the Samsung Galaxy S5 too, for panoramas (which I will share on Flickr later), to test its HDR results, and to capture the family (pics I don’t share here at the club).

In this post you’ll see a few shots I took with the Nokia Lumia 1520 as well. Did I bring four phones to Crete? Yes, afraid I did – but I didn’t bring them all four on my daily trips of course. Nevertheless there are two shots I’d like to share from the 1520. The first one was taken at the pool…

WP_20140423_17_15_41_Pro

Also, do you remember the first shot I shared in these series? Well, I found it on the Lumia 1520 as well:

WP_20140423_16_04_05_Pro

In fact it’s more realistic than the full res result I shared from the 808 PureView (which not only had ND filter on but also its flash for some reason – so basically that was my doing).

Here’s another scene from that same beach, captured with the Nokia 808 PureView.

140320_Nokia_BT_728x90_MB

2014-04-28-0850

Care for a crop?

2014-04-28-0850

It never ceases to amaze me, really. Here’s a shot I captured with the 808 PureView of the still deserted street corner in the center of Stalida , a bit of a messy but colorful shot. Again, I had ND filter on in practically all outside shots.

2014-04-23-0580

The magic in this shot for me lies in the fact that the scene seems to be completely deserted during the middle of the day (you can tell by the shadows) – until you notice the man on the ladder…

Actually, I’m trying to work on “perfecting” shots like these, since for some reason it seems to capture life in a more realistic way than the well-balanced shots I’m usually looking for – the ones you’ll see quite a few from in this post, like this one, captured with the Nokia Lumia 1020

WP_20140426_12_49_23_Pro

Hello? Is it  me you’re looking for? Or my yellow Nokia Lumia 1020? Here’s a crop from the high-res (34MP) result.

6 Nokia Lumia 1020 - Crete - Mirror Pro__highres

As you can clearly see, I’m closing in to the beach again, but first one more shot from the coast, a “modern” version of Knossos so to say, captured with the 808 PureView :-)

2014-04-26-0778

Now at the beach I’d like to do one comparison, capturing a restored ancient little bridge. Nokia 808 PureView first, Lumia 1020 second.

7 Nokia 808 PureView - Crete - Bridge

7 Nokia Lumia 1020 - Crete - Bridge

Sharing this because I heard some people complain about the fact the ND filter is missing on the Lumia range. Well, I’d like to have it there too, but you can see it doesn’t “need” it as much as the 808 PureView does (yes, ND filter was on in the first shot).

The result I got from the 1020 looks simply better to me in this case, as you can see in these crops from the center of the shot. Again, 808 PureView first, Lumia 1020 second.

7 Nokia 808 PureView - Crete - Bridge 7 Nokia Lumia 1020 - Crete - Bridge Pro__highres

More from the beach: some “bulldozer bokeh” – it was taking a break from removing all garbage from the beach to give the tourists a clean start of their holiday. My Lumia 1020 hardly ever takes a break:

WP_20140430_12_23_37_Pro

Oh and I got a similar shot from the 808 PureView as well – you choose.

2014-04-30-0892

I do take a break sometimes however. Let me conclude with two shots: first some more bokeh in this beautiful flower captured with the Nokia 808 PureView.

2014-04-28-0866

Look at the detail… This is the stuff that bees come for! :-)

2014-04-28-0866

I can prove it too :-) Here’s a close-up shot I took with the Nokia 808 PureView from the same type of flower.

2014-04-30-0898

Shot in 5MP PureView and zoomed, it still leaves more than enough room for a great crop…

2014-04-30-0898

And finally a Nokia Lumia 1020 close-up from a typical Greek meal: lamb chops and chips :-) These I think were the very best I ever had – this my “zoomed” result by the way, the high-res shot is a bit messier (and shows more salad, too).

WP_20140429_13_23_06_Pro

Some call it foodporn, I call it a crop :-)

WP_20140429_13_23_06_Pro__highres Crop

Hungry for more? I’m not even sure my next post with “Scenes from Crete” will be my last :-)

I’m really happy with your positive reactions so far – I first thought it might be a bit embarrassing to share so many holiday shots here at the club, but at least you know what I’ve been doing most of the time that week: living out my passion for mobile photography!

Again, all these shots are “untouched”, straight from the cameras. All originals shots are on Flickr, in the same “Scenes from Crete” album. And here’s the final part.

Please join PureViewClub on TwitterFacebookFlickrGoogle+ and/or Instagram.140320_Nokia_BT_728x90_MB

 

 
 Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Reddit Share on LinkedIn
1 Comment  comments 

One Response

  1. Angie

    You were not kidding when you said there is more to come… great selection of shots, and thanks for sharing them, makes one feel like they were there in Crete :-)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>