Facebook Twitter Flickr

Scenes from Crete (2) – captured with the Nokia 808 PureView and Lumia 1020 (Elounda)

I already explained in my previous post I didn’t just want to go through the process of pixel peeping which has become quite normal here at the Club. I feel it doesn’t do justice to the great fun I had making these shots during my week in Crete. So I’ll just share the shots like others do on Facebook, although I do add a few crops and comparisons where I think they’re interesting.

In this second post you’ll see some more from the Nokia 808 PureView and Lumia 1020 – in the next post I hope to add some results from the Samsung Galaxy S5 as well.

All the shots are captured in Elounda, the charming place at the East side of Crete. It looks like it’s “well to do”, a place florishing from the tourist industry without sacrificing itself to it (like Hernossisos).

Elounda has a typical Greek, charming harbour from which I could share shots like forever – I killed quite a few darlings to come to the collection you’ll see in this post – the first one is from the Nokia Lumia 1020.

WP_20140425_16_28_17_Pro

I have some more shots of course, but let’s go in town first. There a beautiful and actually pretty big church a few steps from the harbour. I have know idea what the flowers are called surrounding it – maybe you do. It’s the Nokia Lumia 1020 once more.

WP_20140425_14_30_48_Pro

And of course, there were bees there, too.

WP_20140425_14_33_15_Pro

I’m pretty sure you want to see the crop from the 34MP original, too :-) – also in 640 x 480 pixels.

WP_20140425_14_33_15_Pro__highres

Now, let’s get into the church. It was extremely dark compared to the bright sunlight outside, but both Nokia’s did a great job in capruting the atmosphere inside. This is how the Nokia 808 PureView captured the ceiling.

2014-04-25-0691

Of course you’ll see some noise in the darker part of the shot, but remember this was captured without the flash (ISO 400, 1/12 of a second, and only now I discover that the 808 was still on -7 in exposure compensation (guess I needed that outside, this result is even more remarkable…)

2014-04-25-0691

Like I said, it was very dark in the Church, so to use the Nokia Lumia 1020 was a great choice as well. The next shot might give you a better impression of how dark it was.

WP_20140425_14_44_00_Pro

Churches like these are old on Crete but extremely well maintained – every inch of wall you’ll see has been carefully painted and preserved. But there is some modern technique I found in here as well, like this bokeh shot shows

WP_20140425_14_51_37_Pro

More bokeh in the next shot, taken on the Elounda beach, if only to share the amazing detail you may expect from the Nokia 808 PureView.

2014-04-25-0705

Be sure to check out the original on Flickr too, here’s a part of what you may expect to see:

2014-04-25-0705 (2)

One last shot from the beach – this is when you’re shy but forgot to put on your swimsuit before going there…

2014-04-25-0655

Want detail? Got detail! :-)

2014-04-25-0655 (2)

To conclude, back to the Elounda harbour again, with two shots from the Nokia 808 PureView, both on full resoltion.

2014-04-25-0649

Look at the detail you’ll see even on the left (where I didn’t focus the shot)

2014-04-25-0649

And here one of the pretty boats that takes tourist for a trip in high season.

2014-04-25-0658

So much for Elounda in this post – quite a few shots from the Nokia 808 PureView and some from the Lumia 1020. I hope you’ve enjoyed seeing them as I did making them – and showing their detail!

I might add I never touch these shots – what you see is directly copied from the camera and unaltered in any way – no Picasa, no Lightroom, no Photoshop. What you see is what I got from both Nokia’s – I’m sure you can squeeze much more out of their results, but frankly I think it’s all good enough as it is already.

I added the originals of these shots to the Scenes from Crete album on Flickr, so you can crop all you like. And I still have more than ten from each device to share – and still some from the Samsung Galaxy S5, so I’m afraid there are two more posts with scenes from Crete coming your way soon :-) Update: here’s part 3.

Please join PureViewClub on TwitterFacebookFlickrGoogle+ and/or Instagram.140320_Nokia_BT_728x90_MB

 

 
 Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Reddit Share on LinkedIn

11 Responses

  1. Angie

    Great post and beautiful photos, thank you for reminding us what is capable with the 808 and 1020.

  2. Junnior Reis

    Crete is a collyrium to the eyes !

    No doubt you have been very happy in all the shots, all the pictures are beautiful !

    More than eager to see also the results obtained from the S5 !!!

    • Marc @PureViewClub

      I can imagine Junnior, but I didn’t use it as much for shots like these – I captured my family with the S5 most, and I’m sure you know I’m not going to share those pics here :-)

  3. Kartik

    @Marc, i appreciate your efforts, these comparisons. But the methodology became obsolete.. You have to provide dng files for audience too.. For every single view, there has to be 2 shots, one from 1020 nd other from 808 on equal parameters. And that way, some cool 808 vs 1020 comparisons from writers on pureviewclub like before..

    Your shots are lovely though, should be on official list of images by Nokia

    • Mike

      Errrr…..He was on holiday!

    • bigs

      he did state at the beginning of the post, this was not a pixel peering or phone vs phone post.

      • Kartik

        But we will miss the chance of comparisons in these new nd different situations, locations..!

    • Dominick

      Nice shots Marc! Enjoy your holidays!

      Would love to see more comparisons when you’re back :)

      • Marc @PureViewClub

        Already back to work. And I spent more time enjoying the cameras than comparing them. I did include some comparisons however.